The National Association of Business Political Action Committees (NABPAC), a 501(c)(6) non-profit trade association, was founded in 1977 and is the sole national organization dedicated to promoting, defending and professionalizing PACs and political action professionals.


NABPAC is not a PAC, and does not contribute to candidates – it is a trade association for corporations and business associations. Our goal is to advance the interests of our membership and protect the rights of millions of Americans who participate in democracy though voluntary contributions to a PAC.

NABPAC also provides comprehensive membership services to PAC and grassroots professionals through continuing educational workshops, annual conferences, informative publications and peer-to-peer advising. Membership consists of over 700 PAC and government affairs professionals from more than 240 corporations, associations and vendors throughout the country who represent some of the smallest and largest PACs. NABPAC members collectively accounted for PAC receipts in excess of $250 million during the 2018 election cycle.

NABPAC History

“Huddled in the Virginia Room of the Mayflower Hotel in Washington, DC early in November, 1977 the 51 business leaders listened intently as they were given a 2-day short course on American political action which could revolutionize the role of business in American politics and government. Their goal: The election, in 1978 and beyond, of candidates who favor less government, not more, and who are believers in the free enterprise system. The group: The National Association of Business Political Action Committees (NABPAC), formed in April, 1977…” Washington News – 1977

The National Association of Business Political Action Committees (NABPAC) is a 501(c)(6) non-profit trade association founded in 1977. NABPAC is the nation’s only organization dedicated to promoting, defending and professionalizing PACs and political action professionals. From its founding, NABPAC has been dedicated to the premise that voluntary contributions to candidates, Parties and other political entities provide the critical resources necessary for pro-business candidates to carry their messages to voters.

NABPAC’s mission has evolved with the maturation and sophistication of the business PAC community. In its early years, NABPAC promoted the need for corporations to form “separate segregated funds” (colloquially known as PACs) following the Sun PAC Advisory Opinion and passage of the Federal Election Campaign Act Amendments of 1976. During the 1980s and 1990s, NABPAC fought to preserve PACs as they faced challenges from a “reform” community that sought their elimination. As PACs have demonstrated their viability and become more widely accepted as sources of funding for congressional candidates, NABPAC has expanded educational training programs for members in four critical areas: communications, compliance, fundraising and strategic planning. Now in its fourth decade of existence, NABPAC offers a comprehensive series of educational offerings through an annual conference, PACRap luncheons, peer roundtables, and regular special briefings on topics of concern. Members also are provided unparalleled opportunities to receive timely, insightful input from legal and PAC professionals through the Legal Hotline and PAC Help Hotline, and our Mentor Program.


NABPAC Leadership


Courtney Schoenborn
New York Life

Bridget Sewell
Property Casualty Insurers Association of America

Kipp Maloney

John Mason

At-Large Committee Member
Lauren Colicelli
National Association of Realtors

2021 Trailblazer Award Winners:


Ellen Locke

Sarah McDonald
The Home Depot

Meredith White

Nicole Porter
US Travel Association

Betsy Strong
CVS Health

Mayealie Adams
Philips North America

Laura Davis
Bristol Myers Squibb

Brendan Adams
Kraft Heinz

Mary-Ryan Douglass
American Association for Justice

Davon Gray

Ethan Easterwood
Blue Origin

Spencer Jewell
Hewlett Packard Enterprises

Joe Joiner

Joe Manion
American Waterways Operators

Lindsay Roitman

Lisa Strikowsky Gillman

Jeanne Slade

Kim Snow

Lacye Tennille
Koch Industries

Mayealie Adams

Carol Laham
Wiley Rein, LLP.